Review Blog

Nov 26 2018

The dodo made me do it by Jo Simmons

cover image

Ill. by Sheena Dempsey. Bloomsbury, 2018. ISBN 9781408877777
Recommended. This is a hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong that every child will relate to and is perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero by David Solomons.
A funny book with plenty of set-pieces that fans will giggle their heads off at sees scenes with the characters dealing with Dodo poo and attempting to teach a flightless bird to fly. There is also a lot more going on, not least the yin-yang relationship between the cool-headed Scientific Susie and the feet-first think-later Danny.
The remote Scottish Village of Kinoussie is also awash with eccentric characters.
I would like to see more stories set here (and to find out a bit more about porridge-mad Granny Flora's backstory.
Donna Isgar

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Best Fiction for Young Adults 2019 Top Ten
2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults
ALA award winners 2019
2019 Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
Michael L. Printz Award 2019
Vale John Burningham
Costa Book Awards 2018
Goodreads Choice Awards 2018

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet