Review Blog

Nov 26 2018

The dodo made me do it by Jo Simmons

cover image

Ill. by Sheena Dempsey. Bloomsbury, 2018. ISBN 9781408877777
Recommended. This is a hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong that every child will relate to and is perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero by David Solomons.
A funny book with plenty of set-pieces that fans will giggle their heads off at sees scenes with the characters dealing with Dodo poo and attempting to teach a flightless bird to fly. There is also a lot more going on, not least the yin-yang relationship between the cool-headed Scientific Susie and the feet-first think-later Danny.
The remote Scottish Village of Kinoussie is also awash with eccentric characters.
I would like to see more stories set here (and to find out a bit more about porridge-mad Granny Flora's backstory.
Donna Isgar

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Vale Judith Kerr
Nebula Awards 2019
2019 Locus Awards Finalists
Branford Boase Award 2019 shortlist
Little Rebels Award 2019 shortlist
2019 Teens' Top Ten shortlist
UKLA 2019 shortlists

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Value of School Libraries