Review Blog

Feb 23 2016

Lulu Bell series by Belinda Murrell

cover image

Ill. by Serena Geddes. Random House, 2016.
Lulu Bell's fantastic holiday fun by Belinda Murrell. ISBN 9781925324372
Lulu Bell's amazing animal adventures by Belinda Murrell. ISBN 9781925324358
(Age: 10+) Recommended. Humour. Family. Adventure. The Lulu Bell books, a most popular series of books about Lulu and her family and the adventures they get up to, are now published in two volumes of four stories, ready for readers to take a bundle of them away for their holidays or have a glorious weekend of reading about their hero.
Lulu Bell's amazing animal adventures has four stories, Lulu Bell and the birthday unicorn, Lulu Bell and the cubby fort, Lulu Bell and the pyjama party, and Lulu Bell and the tiger cub, while Lulu Bell's fantastic holiday fun includes four other stories, Lulu Bell and the koala joey, Lulu Bell and the pirate fun, Lulu Bell and the sea turtle, and Lulu Bell and the circus pup.
Each story has a straightforward plot, easy to remember characters, Lulu Bell as its main character, an engaging heroine, and familiar settings. Each is about ninety pages long and has copious illustrations and larger than usual print, making them ideal for middle primary girls. Putting four stories into one volume makes for a large tome, but fans of this character will not mind, and it may be a draw card for those wanting something which looks more substantial. Single titles have already been most favourably reviewed on Readplus.
Fran Knight

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Children's Laureate's charter
2019 Locus Awards Winners
Little Rebels Award 2019
Miles Franklin Award shortlist 2019
2019 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals
2019 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winners
Nebula Awards 2019
Branford Boase Award 2019 shortlist

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Value of School Libraries