Review Blog

Jan 13 2012

Wild Rescue Series by J Burchett and S Volger

cover image

Hardie Grant Egmont, 2011.
1. Poacher Peril ISBN 978-192169025-9
2. Earthquake Escape ISBN 978-192169026-6
3. Forest Fire ISBN 978-192169027-3
4. Polar Meltdown ISBN 978-192169028-0
This series has it all for 7 to 9 year old readers. Adventure, intrigue, a top secret organisation (Wild) and twins Ben and Zoe who solve mysteries and save animals.
In Book 1 Poacher Peril, Ben and Zoe receive a mysterious message from their famous zoologist uncle who wants them to join Wild, saving endangered species around the world. They are equipped with high tech gadgets and sent undercover to the Sumatran rainforest to ensure a tiger and her cubs are safe from poachers.
The story is exciting and fast paced. There are ample black and white illustrations to support the text.
Throughout the book the reader is given lots of information about the focus animal, in this case tigers and the problems they face. At the end of the novel is a 2 page fact sheet.
Each book in the series gives the twins a new mission, a new animal and problem to solve.
In book 2 Earthquake Rescue, Ben and Zoe must save a baby panda in China, Book 3 Forest Fire involves a young orang-utan in Borneo and in Book 4 orphan polar bear cubs need to be rescued in the Arctic.
Read the first chapters of these books to children and you will have them hooked.
Jane Moore

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Feel good and uplifting books for primary children
Humour for teens fiction list
CBCA Shortlists 2020
Carnegie and Greenaway Medals shortlist 2020
Laugh Out Loud Book Awards 2020
UK Children's Book Award 2020

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Feel good and uplifting books for staff
Online Children's Storytime Websites List
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Children's Laureate's charter