Review Blog

Dec 19 2011

The Chimney Corner Collection by Enid Blyton

cover image

Egmont, 2011. ISBN 9781405260152.
If you are looking for a stocking filler of engaging, magical stories then this new collection of Enid Blyton classics is the perfect choice. There is a reason that Blyton has remained a favourite throughout generations - this was originally published in 1947 - and this is the ideal opportunity to introduce this generation of emerging readers to her fantasy world. There are 60 stories in the collection ranging from The Magic Walking Stick to Old Ugly the Water Grub, each full of Blyton's inimitable characters and the perfect length to read-aloud or read-alone. Even the title of the collection suggest curling up somewhere snug and just reading, particularly during those January days when the novelty of the Christmas toys has worn off or the batteries are flat.
Despite their age and the traditional black-and-white drawings, these stories remain popular. When I was in the library, I had a special shelf for Enid Blyton and despite having a sizeable collection built from scouring second-hand shops and book fairs, there were seldom any available for borrowing. The circulation stats were amazing. With 2012 being the National Year of Reading, perhaps it is timely to connect parent and child through story and celebrate these tales so familiar to many. This collection would be an ideal starting
Barbara Braxton

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Branford Boase Award longlist 2020
Printz Award 2020
Newbery Medal 2020
Caldecott Medal 2020
Best Fiction for Young Adults List 2020
Costa Children's Book Award 2019

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Children's Laureate's charter