Review Blog

Aug 09 2011

Star League series by H.J. Harper

cover image

Random House Australia, 2011.
(Age: 9-12) Star League is an appealing action series filled with humour due the six unlikely main characters, each of whom has a quirky special ability. Jay the movie star has a special way of helping people work together. He has his work cut out. Not only does he work as an actor to keep up normal appearances, but he leads the Star League team comprising a werewolf, a ninja, a zombie, a robot and an animancer. Written in the first person, each book in the series tells a good verses evil adventure involving one of the Star League characters.
These books are filled with energetic twists and turns that surprise the reader. These books will appeal to a variety of tastes among middle and upper primary readers. Could be a useful quick read for the slow or reluctant older reader.

Book 1. Lights, Camera, Action Hero by H.J. Harper ISBN 9781864718669.
Book 2. Curse of the Werewolf by H.J. Harper ISBN 9781864718676.
Book 3. Raising the Dead by H.J. Harper ISBN 9781864718683.
Book 4. The Ninja Cove by H.J. Harper ISBN 9781864718690.
Sue Whittaker

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Laugh Out Loud Awards shortlist
Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlists 2019
2019 Inky Award Winners
2019 Hugo Awards
CBCA Book of the Year Awards 2019
Booker Prize 2019 longlist
Children's Laureate's charter

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Value of School Libraries