Review Blog

Sep 16 2011

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

cover image

Penguin, 2011. ISBN 9780141340883  
(Age 13 +) Highly recommended. Guaranteed to make you want to keep reading The Power of Six is the second book in the young adult science fiction series The Lorien Legacies. This novel has parallel stories of two of the nine Lorien Gardes sent from their planet at the time of its destruction. Number Seven Marina is hiding with her adult Cepan, Adelina, in a convent in Spain. When we meet her she is desperately trying to convince Adelina to reveal vital information she needs to prepare herself for the mission all nine Garde have on Earth. The other Garde, John Smith, is on the run after the events described in the first of the series, I am Number Four . John is accompanied by his Earth friend Sam, a chimera (shape shifter), called Bernie Kosar, and another powerful female Garde, known as Number Six.
The pace is hectic as the alien teenagers develop their unique and deadly talents and are forced to use these talents to survive against their planet's arch enemies the Mogodorians and their terrifying creatures. Fans of Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter will enjoy these battles against the krauls, piken and other vicious monsters. The fast paced narrative will have you wondering many times how the characters are going to make it out alive from their latest perilous position. The book ending makes it obvious there are plenty more books to come in the series.
Using a different font for each of the first person narratives means keeping track of the two story lines is quite simple for readers. An entertaining thriller with memorable characters, especially Bernie Kosar . . . There is a film of the first book in the series I am Number Four that could be used to hook readers into the series. Highly recommended for boys who have enjoyed Robert Muchamore, Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson, but both genders will enjoy the fast action and well developed characters.
Chris Lloyd

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Klaus Flugge Prize shortlist 2017
Branford Boase Award shortlist 2017
Stella Prize 2017
2017 YALSA Teens' Top Ten Nominees
YA Book Prize 2017 shortlist
School Library Association Information Book Award 2017

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Books for boys